Hope in the fog and rainbow (that’s not the name of a pub, by the way)

Here’s the other blog post I wrote during my Lenten break from Facebook, which you may not have seen. This proved to be wonderfully, prophetically true, right from the day I posted it. I love how our God turns things around for good.

rojnut

Thick fog draped the South Downs, marshes and fields as I drove over to Brighton from Hastings the other day, making driving conditions difficult and robbing the countryside of its usual verdant vibrancy.

I pondered how my emotional and spiritual life has felt fog-like over recent months, drudging as I have through a sludge of uncertainty, self-doubt, bereavements, practical problems, over-introspection, low mood and relationship difficulties, all no doubt exacerbated by physical tiredness from increasing demands and pressures at work and the endless broken nights forgivably caused by our delightful 2-year-old daughter!

fog-on-road-300x199

Gingerly negotiating my way round the blind bends, I thought about how I’ve tried to ‘slow down’ in my spiritual fog recently, taking more time to pray and reflect, to seek more of God again*.

Driving along the A27, I remembered in reflection and prayer how fog often seems to be a precursor to glorious sunshine, and felt…

View original post 798 more words

Leave a Reply

