FLY

The first poem I’ve written since I was 19. Inspired by a fly that was distracting me when I was trying to write my next post…

Normal blog service will be resumed soon…

 

FLY

O fly,

Sorry I’m not a Buddhist

Or even a Hindu

Or else you’d be safe

From my pesticidal spray.

 

I’m after you

You who can fly

But cannot hide.

 

Fly, oh fly

Why oh why

Do you

Continue

To fly?

 

You’re not fly

Not even cool

Just a pesky

Annoying

Germ-carrying

Fly.

 

I’m after you

You who can fly

But cannot hide.

 

You never stop

Or drop like a fly

My aims are a flop

However I try.

 

With your three-sixty vision

And your jump-jet take-off

You think you’re so…

Fly.

 

And maybe you are…

 

But I’m after you

You who can fly

But cannot hide.

 

My blog is not being written

Oh fly

Are you a red herring

Or just a black housefly

You with the personality crisis?

 

My nemesis

In the kitchen

Despicable fly

I’m after you

You who can fly

But cannot…

 

Where have you hidden

While I’ve written

This silliness?

 

 

Fly (adjective) = very good, excellent; “cool; “awesome” (The Online Slang Dictionary)

Leave a Reply

